Find SharePoint Feature Name from Feature Id utility

 

Something that upsets me is when I get the following message :

image

Even the ULS log won’t show you the feature name:

image

image

How can I find the feature ? yes I can start a text search through all features in the Features folder.

Or you can use the following utility I’ve just created (it took me 10 minutes to do it) :

image

You can also find it in CodePlex.

image

5 responses to “Find SharePoint Feature Name from Feature Id utility

  1. Not sure if anyone is checking this page any longer but I just came across it and was trying to run the tool. When I put in the feature ID and hit Find feature I get an error “Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click qui, the application will close immediately.
    Could not load file or assembly ‘Microsoft.Sharepoint. Version=14.0.0.0. Culture=neutral. PublicKeyToken=71e9bce111e9429c’ or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

    Do I need to make sure to run this on the sharepoint server?

Leave a Reply

