It looks like when we activate the Content Organizer feature, if the “dropped” document is not routed, it get a unique permission.
For instance, I’ve created a very basic document content type called myDoc with one required site column called test
The routing rule is “move the document to a document library” if test = “test”, as simple as that
If I upload a document (single upload window) in the drop off library and I set the test value to xxx (so the document won’t get routed)
If you check the document permission :
You will get the following unique permission :
(I was logged as system account in this case)
If you use the multiple document upload windows
The document will have to be checked in in order to provide the required metadata
If you check the document permissions, you will notice that permissions are inherited :
If you edit the metadata (and therefore the routing rule get triggered), you get inherited permission.
The consequence is that any checked in document staying in the drop off library can only be edited by the person who dropped it into the drop off library.